Silver Apples Mag Issue 6: Frostbitten

As I mentioned in my last post, the magazine Silver Apples have made their winter issue Frostbitten free to download here. (You should read it! It’s free and it’s good!) I’ve finished my copy, thoroughly enjoyed it, and would like to tell you which were my favourite pieces and why I liked them. If you haven’t read it yet, go download your copy and then get back to me!

Like last time I did a review of a magazine, this list doesn’t include all of the ones I liked. This is just a sample, I actually had to cut the list down…

  1. The Boyfriend Shop – Arron Ferguson: Absolutely hilarious.
  2. Silver Bracelet – Faye Boland: This poem  was heartbreaking and beautiful. Perfectly put together.
  3. Let it Snow – Cassandra Schoeber: I loved the premise of this little tale. I’m a big fan of rewrites of myths or fairy tales, and I liked the idea of a reluctant, near-human Jack Frost.
  4. Coldest on Record – Michelle Coyne: Ah, this story was great craic! I enjoyed the humour, the slangy language, the impression given that something maybe-supernatural is going on…and also the depth, provided by the Grandad’s disgust at his daughter being a single mother.
  5. The Elsa Dress – James Holden: So cute. The relationship between husband and wife was great (“50p. Or is it a pound for an eff?” “I don’t care about the sodding swear box right now.”) But I also really liked the discussion about trying to raise their daughter free of pressure from gender roles, and yet discovering that everyday life enforces those roles all the same.

(I don’t have a picture of the cover because I read a virtual copy, but the cover is gorgeous.)

If you enjoyed Silver Apples, here is their lovely website. Maybe you could buy their next issue…OH and they have submissions opening soon for anyone who’s interested, on the theme “Places We Have Travelled”. Good luck. 🙂

