The Addictive To-Read List

A couple of months ago I wrote an open letter to  author Louise O’Neill, complaining that I did not have time to read her latest book Asking For It. (I finally got a chance at Halloween, and just so you know, you should read it too.) But, as it turns out, there’s a growing list of books which look dangerously addictive. So here are a few more of them:

  1. Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding: I found it in my attic and the first page was very entertaining so I put it down quick.
  2. The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan: It was the original Percy Jackson series that I fell completely in love with. The Heroes of Olympus books are pretty good stories, though they don’t really have enough of the old characters to keep me happy. I read them all, except this most recent one – which, I’ve just discovered, is also the last in the series. I guess I’d better get my hands on it.
  3. The Devil Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger: This has been sitting on a bookshelf for years, but recently a friend highly recommended it, so now I want to read it and I can’t and oh it hurts.

There’s also a couple I actually have read, but which should be approached with caution:

  1. The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire North: You really should read it. Not if you’re busy. It’s very intense. But you should read it.
  2. Brooklyn by Colm Tóibín: I’d been wanting to read this ever since last Christmas when I watched my sister swallow it whole. Over midterm, this was the other book I made time for (mostly because I wanted to go to the movie.)

(I thought that both the book and the film of Brooklyn were excellent, although in different ways. There weren’t many changes, but somehow it felt as though they told different stories. This is one where I’d recommend reading the book before seeing the movie – if you have time before it goes out of cinemas.)

